Page 1 of 1

Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:07 pm
by soulsnbones
Any one know which NZ beers are and are not vegan. The only one I know is safe for sure is Green Man. Fuckin' tasty too!

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:28 pm
by Hamtown Dave
Heeeeaps of them have dog piss in them aye... I think green man might, so it might not be vegan.

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:53 pm
by Agnes
I heard Guiness was filtered through the embryos of unborn african children hence the dark colour, I'm pretty sure that makes it vegan.

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:02 pm
by elli
most are vegan. Guinness, castle and vb have gelatin in them. And cask anything is always dodge.

Heard scrumpy wasn’t vegan… anyone know?

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:13 pm
by Brinn
^^ beer uses isinglass not gelatin (maybe some use gelatin, but not guinness or any others I know).

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:34 pm
by dustbinflowers
isinglass isn't very vegan at all- many wines use albumen as a clearing agent too. Ring or email the company if it's not on the label.

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:53 pm
by Scumbelina
Corona is

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:05 pm
by Livestock
Got told by my hard out Vegan friend that anything that comes from DB is Vegan...

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:41 pm
by xSUSPECTx
Brinn wrote:^^ beer uses isinglass not gelatin (maybe some use gelatin, but not guinness or any others I know).

sorry you forgot to write 'very few' before that sentence 'only crap beer' would have done too.

calling guinness vegan is just joking btw.

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:52 pm
by Brinn
dustbinflowers wrote:isinglass isn't very vegan at all- many wines use albumen as a clearing agent too. Ring or email the company if it's not on the label.

Wasn't saying isinglass is vegan, just saying that it's isinglass not gelatin.

Suspect wrote:
Brinn wrote:^^ beer uses isinglass not gelatin (maybe some use gelatin, but not guinness or any others I know).

sorry you forgot to write 'very few' before that sentence 'only crap beer' would have done too.

calling guinness vegan is just joking btw.

Are you meaning I should have clarified that not all beer uses isinglass? Bit hard to understand. But yeah, it's mostly just the crap beer that uses isinglass.

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:56 pm
by stenchcore666
beer is made with yeast, thats a living organism....

murderers!

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:19 am
by xSUSPECTx
some beers use albumen too, the only way around it is to only drink german purity law compliant beer since brands like heineken will just lie to anmyone who asks unnofficially.

Re: Vegan Beers

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:21 am
by xSUSPECTx
dustbinflowers wrote:isinglass isn't very vegan at all- many wines use albumen as a clearing agent too. Ring or email the company if it's not on the label.

heh, its always pretty funny seeing a wine bottle with 'contains fish and eggs' printed on the back... yuck.